PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from
Other Reviews by this User
 
October 31, 2014 @ 01:50 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By

Beer Reviews
(41)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

41
Beer Reviews from
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good
Good Good Good Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A N/A Good

Establishment: J. Patrick's Irish Pub, Baltimore, MD

so why is this place then listed as a beer bar in pubcrawler. there are sites for irish pubs, just as there are for martini bars. if everyone listed their favorite watering hole, then the database would be so diluted as to be unusable for it's intended purpose; i.e. identifying and rating brewpubs and beer bars so that the educated consumer can make the most of his (or her)time and money in supporting the craft brewing industry. a beer bar is defined for purposes of the website: "An establishment that does not brew its own beer, yet is microbrew-friendly... meaning, it has a good selection of microbrews and/or imports and is a good spot to hang out and enjoy good beer". just because a pub serves traditional irish libations of guinness, harp and a cider, does not qualify it as a beer bar. i enjoy irish pubs just as much as the next guy (my family would disown me if i didn't), but most irish pubs are just that, traditional irish pubs and not micro friendly beer bars.

(11/04/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Primo Barone's, Franklin, PA

This is not a brewpub!! It really pisses me off to drive 100 miles out of my way to support brewpubs, good or bad, just to find out that they have been supplying bad information. They are not brewing, nor do they plan on it in the near future. It looks like a nice restaurant and they have a few micros on tap. My first indication that it was going to be a bum visit was the coors light and honey brown neons in the window. Delete this from the brewpub list and change to either a beer bar (which would not be worth the trip out there) or delete from the database entirely

(07/24/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Great Good

Establishment: Jarre Creek Ranch Brewery, Castle Rock, CO

new and maybe have a few kinks to work out. almost look like they are trying to be a big city restaurant in a small town, why with all the staff with headsets and microphones!? they were getting a sizable crowd for lunch...so i assume the food is good, if not a bit pricey. beers were for the most part bland and shooting for the low to mid range in flavour it seemed. tried to get a tour of the brewing operation, which we finally accomplished after a very long wait and the person that was tasked to show us around really wasn't very knowledgeable of the operation. rockyard definately has better beers, but i would not give up on jc!

(12/24/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: BJ's Pizza, Grill and Brewery, Boulder, CO

why does everybody bust on chains...just cause they have a formula that works doesnt make them bad. i still feel that they have one of the best ipa's going...and a good spectrum of other beers. and if pizza is your thing...this is the place. i'll go back and usually head for bj's rather it is in colorado or los angeles!!

(12/24/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Lousy Good

Establishment: Avery Brewing Company, Boulder, CO

i would like to give them a bad rating based on their suckey attitude...had trouble finding it, we wanted to get a short tour and they acted put out...one guy was sleeping in his car and we were pushed off on the father of the owner/brewmaster? who was not at all interested in showing us around. not much info on the tour and when we asked if it was possible to sample again he acted put out, even though they do have some taps for tasting...he just kept taking us back to there sales room where you can purchase t-shirts, glasses etc. my advice to you is to skip visiting and just buy them on tap someplace local

(12/24/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good

Establishment: Oasis Brewery, Boulder, CO

ok, so they don't have a beer to please a devout hophead...and the decor is more fitting for a martini bar...still, i haven't met many brewpubs i did not like, and that goes for this one too. pleasant range of beers, good food and service.

(12/24/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good So So Great

Establishment: Tommyknocker Brewery and Pub, Idaho Springs, CO

finally...i have wanted to stop in for years and finally got the chance. i was not disappointed. good beer and food, but i tried to stop the bartender from pouring my beer in a plastic cup...til they pointed to the sign that the city water supply was tainted and all water had to be boiled...just goes to prove that it is safer drinking beer than water!! they usually have a cask conditioned available, which is good. service tends to be intermittent, they tend to focus on their favorite locals, so visitors tend to feel more like outcasts than at other brewpubs that i have experienced in co. still an interesting place...noisy the day we visited...as the bottling line was running...which would be expected.

(12/24/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Rockyard Brewing Company, Castle Rock, CO

ah, yes, finally some good places to stop on the route from cos to den. good beer and good food. have to give this place the edge over the new place in town, actually almost right across the street!!

(12/24/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So So So So So

Establishment: Pug Ryan's Steakhouse Brewery, Dillon, CO

ditto. not really a brewery...beer is brewed for them.

(12/24/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Awesome!

Establishment: Phantom Canyon Brewing Company, Colorado Springs, CO

still always end up coming back here whenever we get to colorado. everything you expect in a quality brewpub, friendly knowledgeable staff, pleasant, comfortable decor, unique, tasty menu, with good portions and a great selection of fresh beer, with the full spectrum of flavor.

(12/24/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Great

Establishment: Mountain Sun Pub and Brewery, Boulder, CO

non-exciting place, but friendly patrons and staff...good full spectrum of beers--java porter was like drinking a good strong cup of espresso! hippieish...didn't know anyone still used that term nor remembers hippies...brings back excellent memories...i think what they are trying to express is that laid back attitude...mostly college students. not your typical colorado brewpub decor with that wood, mountain lodge motif, but still pleasant and worth the visit

(12/24/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy N/A Lousy Lousy

Establishment: Lone Wolfe Brewing Company, Carbondale, CO

for starters, this is the wrong address, they moved to another location in carbondale a couple of years ago. but they still call themselves lone wolfe brewing. a misnomer, since even though they have the kettles displayed in the front they do not brew. i would not even call them a beer bar...they do have a couple of colorado micros on tap, but they do not know what they are serving, the staff are idiots, there is little or no food. i should have known better than to go inside when i saw all the miller and budweiser neon in the window. all the patrons were drinking bud bottles. definately a waste of time to drive out of the way to find this place, better places close to the major highway. needs one more rating selection...SUCKS!!

(12/24/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy N/A Lousy Lousy

Establishment: Lone Wolfe Brewing Company, Carbondale, CO

for starters, this is the wrong address, they moved to another location in carbondale a couple of years ago. but they still call themselves lone wolfe brewing. a misnomer, since even though they have the kettles displayed in the front they do not brew. i would not even call them a beer bar...they do have a couple of colorado micros on tap, but they do not know what they are serving, the staff are idiots, there is little or no food. i should have known better than to go inside when i saw all the miller and budweiser neon in the window. all the patrons were drinking bud bottles. definately a waste of time to drive out of the way to find this place, better places close to the major highway...the ratings need one more category...SUCKS!

(12/24/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Hubcap Brewery And Steakhouse, Vail, CO

did not have a chance to stop in, but i understand from the locals that they had stopped brewing for a while, but they are back...and from the last couple of reviews, looks like worth the stop...previously, when brewing they weren't all that bad, considering the locale

(12/24/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great So So Good

Establishment: Gore Range Brewery, Edwards, CO

tucked away in a shopping center, looks to be a good place to stop after a day of skiing. typical colorado brewpub decor, lots of wood and a fireplace, outdoor patio heaters--no smoking indoors. beers were not overly hopped, but had enough to satisfy. only a few customers at the time that we stopped in and it was still difficult to get service. either the bartender did not know or did not want to talk about the beers.

(12/24/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Lousy Great

Establishment: Flying Dog Brewery, Denver, CO

a must stop in denver. ok, so it is very eclectic. reminds me of the old bardo rodeo in rosslyn virginia (now dr dremo's) they just march to the beat of their own drummer. received a very nice, personable tour of the brewing operation (any business where you can bring your dog to work is ok by me!!!) the beers are very good, middle of the road, brews. most people can find at least one that they like. unfortunately, the selection on tap was lacking, only two or three of their own. so, if you are looking for one of those typical, colorado brewpubs with lots of wood detail, quite and cosy...better get your flying dog at the liquor store and take it home!! otherwise, check this place out. it is in the shadow of coors field!

(12/24/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Glenwood Canyon Brewing Company, Glenwood Springs, CO

good view-good food-good beer-what more could one want?? usually put at least one beer on the nitrogen. good idea. maybe it is the altitude, but for those of us from sea level, colorado beers tend to be overcarbonated. the nitro beers don't leave you with that bloated feeling. we stayed in the area three days, tried many other places around and always ended up back here for the food and brew.

(12/24/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Rosie's Brewpub, Leadville, CO

nice, cosy, no smoking pub. maybe it is the altitude, but the beers tended to be overcarbonated. decanting a couple of times reduces the fizz, then the beers are very good and tasty. if i remember correctly, this is noted as being the highest brewpub in america!

(12/24/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Great

Establishment: Backcountry Brewery, Frisco, CO

just can't say enough about this place...nicely nestled in summit county among the ski areas...comfortable place with good and reasonably priced food. the beer is exceptional. the ipa will be a treat even for the most discriminating hop head. other beers are quality too. the breakfast stoudt was not ready when i was last there, but having previously had it, i assume this year's batch will be as good as last years. (beer...it's not just for breakfast anymore!!)

(12/24/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Good Good

Establishment: Brewmaster BP and Brick Oven Restaurant, Ocean City, MD

Support your local brewpub! While many brewpubs may not cater to everyones' taste, it is worthwhile to support them and hopefully, keep them going. 5 fruit flavors of wheat beer is not my thing, but I certainly applaud the efforts of Chris, the brewer and owner, in his continuing struggle to keep this dream alive in Ocean City, the coors and bud light summer mecca.

(08/21/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Waterfront Ale House, New York, NY

damnit again. stop torturing me. another classic bar, lotsa taps and must see ratings. only problem is they were closed the whole labor day weekend. you guys owe me subway fare for fighting my way down there only to find locked doors!!

(09/05/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Great

Establishment: Jekyll and Hyde Pub, New York, NY

cool. hey, sometimes you need more stimulation than just on the taste buds. lots going on, and you can get a decent beer besides. visit and ditch the attitude, lighten up and have fun.

(09/05/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Ginger Man, New York, NY

damnit! quit rating this place so good. i really wanted to check it out, so we trekked there first thing, finally found it after much walking, only to discover a sign that said that they didn't open til 4, so we had to go on to other places. so much beer, so little time!

(09/05/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A So So So So

Establishment: d.b.a. (DBA), New York, NY

i don't get it. what is all the rave about dba. ok, they got a good selection on tap. the place is just a dirty bar with very little character. not a restaurant. the beer rotates very often due to their popularity, so it is usually fresh. don't make a special trip, but hey, if you are in the neighborhood, stop by.

(09/05/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Chelsea Brewing Company, New York, NY

hey, it was uneventful, but for nyc, that is a good thing. the beer was quaffable, not outstanding by hophead standards, but good. food and service and location were pleasurable. did not get the horrendous attitudes found in other downtown establishments

(09/05/2000)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]













(0.331 seconds) 13:50:26 54.90.243.204, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS