PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from
Other Reviews by this User
 
December 21, 2014 @ 09:05 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By

Beer Reviews
(33)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

33
Beer Reviews from
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Good Good Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: The Brew Pub was Ramapo Valley Brewery, Suffern, NY

Just sampled the Belgian Wit - Ramapo did a fantastic job on it. Absolutley delicious.

(02/04/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Good Great

Establishment: Wickenden Pub, Providence, RI

Hands down one of the best little pubs in Providence. This was always my favorite place to go to as a college student - we could actually afford the $1.75 pints of Rolling Rock. After 6 years, I recently returned to Wickenden to reminisce. Everything was exactly the same with the exception of small price hikes here and there. Now, The selection of beers is still fantastic. There is something for every taste here. Yes, it is small and does become crowded and smokey on certain nights but it has a great juke box and has always been a great time.

(10/18/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: High Point Brewing, Butler, NJ

Last Saturday, I decided to grab the beer for our annual Oktoberfest party from Greg at High Point. We picked up 2 torpedos of the Revelation Golden Lager, 2 of the Oktoberfest and 1 of the Classic. I must say, all of the beers were truly incredible. Every guest was curious as to what they were drinking, what country it came from etc. Everyone was pleasantly surprised when we told them the beer came fresh from Butler, NJ - about 30 miles away. A few friends from Germany commented that the Helles lager was the best they had tasted in a long time. All 5 torpedo kegs quickly vanished. I should also note that (as usual) Greg was incredibly hospitable and accommodating. He and his staff are responsible for some of the best beers on the East Coast!

(10/02/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Great

Establishment: Ludwig's Garten, Philadelphia, PA

Stopped in on the 24th of August for a few appetizers and beers. The waitresses were in a "meeting" (most likely trying to quickly eat dinner) but the bartender was incredibly courteous. They were out of a few good choices but the selection is so large, it didn't matter. All the beers were fresh and delicious. The zwiebelkuchen tart was fantastic as well. Cannot wait to return.

(09/06/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Troegs Brewing Company, Harrisburg, PA

Just tried their Nut Brown in bottles - outstanding beer!

(12/21/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Heavyweight Brewing Company, Ocean Township, NJ

Recently sampled their Sticke Alt at Andy's Corner - an excellent spin on the style. Nice and smooth and also a little weaker in alcohol than some of their other offerings whcih helps if you want to have more than a few beers. A big thumbs up.

(08/03/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Good Great

Establishment: Zum Schneider, New York, NY

A group of friends and I ventured here on the evening of July 3rd. I figured a Bavarian Biergarten would not be crowded before our Fourth of July. I couldn't have been more wrong. Zum was packed from the moment we arrived and seemed to become more crowded as the night wore on. It had a great feel about it with large open doors, traditional table seating (strangers next to you) and people of all ages. The two things I learned right away were you should bring cash (no credit cards were accepted) and you should also brush up on your Deutsch. Over half of the clientele (on that particulat night) were from German speaking countries and most wouldn't budge until I said Entshuldige.

Overall, the bier quality and selection was excellent. There were about 16 taps to choose from - all served in a proper glass according to style. The menu was written on a chalk board on the wall that featured traditional fare that was satisfying. Considering how crowded the place was, the service was good - there was only one waitress for our entire section and she did an admirable job. A must on the list of places to visit in Manhattan.

(07/19/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great

Establishment: Black Horse, Denver, PA

Had a really nice visit at the Tavern section before attending the most recent Stoudt's MicroFest. The staff was extremely attentive, knowledgeable and friendly. They also served very good pub food. The menu for the dining room is of higher scale and heavy on their Black Angus beef. Tap beer selection was small but very well chosen. We tried the Tröegs Summer which was awesome. The bottle selection is fantastic - a little pricey but a great selection. Would definitely return.

(07/03/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Murphy's Law, New York, NY

This place sticks to mainstream Irish imports and big three brews but has a lot of charm and atmosphere. The food and service were great! The best rueben I have had in a long time. WIll definitely return!

(06/19/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good So So Great

Establishment: McSorley's Old Ale House, New York , NY

Light or Dark. Be Good or Be Gone. That says it all. Gotta love this place.

(05/29/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Zum Schneider, New York, NY

Haven't been here yet but a very positive review was published in the New York Times recently. They gave it a big thumbs up.

(05/29/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Basil T's Brew Pub and Italian Grill, Red Bank, NJ

Paris the webmaster of Pubcrawler has edited out the 6 posts I referred to in my earlier post.

(05/29/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Lousy Lousy So So

Establishment: Fraunces Tavern, New York, NY

In response to the post below: If the establishment carries the word 'Tavern" as part of their name, it is obviously about the food and beer. The food sucked, the service sucked and the beer was ok.

(05/25/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Weyerbacher Brewing Company, Easton, PA

I tried the Rasberry Stout at Andy's Corner in Bogota. This stuff is incredible.

(05/14/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great

Establishment: Basil T's Brew Pub and Italian Grill, Red Bank, NJ

If anyone sounds like ridiculous, it is the guy who posted the previous 6 messages. Talk about raving. Dan Berger's review said the Porter was good, as was the chicken. What's the problem here?

(04/27/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Good Great

Establishment: Saint Mark's Ale House, New York, NY

(04/26/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Manayunk Brewery and Restaurant, Manayunk, PA

Yeah!!

(03/09/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!

Establishment: High Point Brewing, Butler, NJ

Best wheat beers on the East Coast.

(03/07/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Artful Dodger, Philadelphia, PA

Hey - I'm from Jersey and I love this place!!

(02/06/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Otter Creek Brewing Company, Middlebury, VT

Making truly excellent and consistent beers. Their Alt and Porter are first rate!

(01/19/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Climax Brewing Company, Roselle Park, NJ

This father and son brewery make some excellent beers. I tried their Cream Ale at Andy's Corner Bar - a fantastic example of the style. Now if only I could find their growlers of beer in some liqour stores...impossible to find in my neck of the woods.

(01/18/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great N/A Awesome!

Establishment: Heavyweight Brewing Company, Ocean Township, NJ

"Bigger and Smaller than Most" says it all for this New Jersey brewery. Heavyweight is making the best Big Beers in the state - from their Belgian-style Lunacy to the dark and powerful Baltus - they are among my favorites.

My brother and I recently stopped by the brewery to meet Tom and to have a quick taste. Even though we interrupted Lunacy bottling work, Tom and his partner in crime Mike were extremely accommodating and friendly. I was able to try Lunacy, (my brother loves this brew) as well Perkuno's Hammer - Heavyweight's new Baltic porter which got a four-star rating from the both. Tom treated us to a taste of his soon to be released barleywine "Old Salty". I can't wait to have a bottle or two of it come December when it is released. Tom even pulled out the pretzels for us in between samples.

If you see any of Heavyweight's beers for sale - don't hesitate to purchase them.

(11/08/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Good Great

Establishment: Company B's, Orangeburg, NY

One of my favorite places to go due to the incredible selection of beers. I have been there on many occasions to witness the tap cleaning service - these guys do care about their beer - I have yet to experience one pint that was off. Benny the bartender s great as well - all in all a fun place to be - the only drawback is that they used to have great acoustic bands on Thursday nights but they discontinued it for some reason - now - most bands on the weekend suck big time!! Go here for the beer and food. Not the music.

(11/07/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Standings was Brewsky's, New York, NY

Fantastic selection of beers available to choose from - the only problem is that most of the prices are ridiculous!!

(11/07/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Yards Brewing Company, Philadelphia, PA

Tried Yards' Love Stout last night at Helmer's. Truly heaven in a glass. Probably the best tasting stout I have had in a long time.

(11/02/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!

Establishment: Ludwig's Garten, Philadelphia, PA

I stopped into Ludwig's recently during a trip to Philly. I immediately fell in love with the casual atmosphere of this place. After I took a look at all of the taps with their variety of German beers, I was in Heaven. Service was fast and courteous - a happy hour was in full swing when I arrived around 11 p.m. I had a few Salvators and an Adventinus. I wish I had arrived earlier to sample the food. Definitely worth the trip.

(10/31/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Victory Brewing Company, Downingtown, PA

Mark - I read the article you mentioned. Look - I am not here to get in a pissing match with you as far as whose beer is great and whose is not. Victory makes great beers – as do some folks across the ocean. I'll be on the lookout for the poor tasting pils next month while in München.

(10/30/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Lousy Lousy Good

Establishment: Victory Brewing Company, Downingtown, PA

In response to Wayne, PA's garrulous message posted below (complete with emphasis on cetain syllables) - you have entirely missed the point of my previous post. Sorry to spoil your fun but I have enjoyed many of Victory's ales and lagers and have also made a few trips to the brewery itself. Your comment that I was "complaining" is moot. In my opinion, it is upsetting to read an article (written by someone who learned his trade in Deutschland) that slams Germany and their products. Talk about biting the hand that feeds you!

Newsflash: If you take the time to look at other reviews of brewpub's, bars, etc, you will find many commentaries throughout the site that do not include a reviews.

(10/25/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So Lousy Lousy

Establishment: Samuel Adams Brewhouse, Philadelphia, PA

Nodding Head

I used to frequent this place when it was the Sam Adams house. Last weekend, I planned an excursion with some friends to Philly. I suggested we meet at "Nodding Head". Well - that was a big mistake. I arrived late - my 2 buddies had eaten "safe food" and tried the IPA. They were not impressed with either and quickly let me know.

I asked the bartender (Who was absolutely clueless) what she had on tap - she mumbled something and walked away - I finally figured out they had a Belgian style "Session" beer - I asked her for a sample of that as well as the IPA. Honestly - both beers tasted like my homebrewing attempts - bad. I even had to remind the bartender to charge me for my appetizer as she was ignoring customers and counting her tip jar.

Bad beer, coupled with mediocre food (burgers, chicken tenders) and an atrocious staff turned this a very brief visit. We quickly left and walked to Ludwig's Garten which was thoroughly enjoyable.

(09/27/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A So So Great

Establishment: Andy's Corner Bar, Bogota, NJ

I made my first trip to Andy's with some friends last week after they had touted it as one of the best beer bars in New Jersey.

At first glance from the outside, I was expecting something along the lines of the redneck bar from the Blues Brothers' film. The place is a little run down inside and out but after I saw the selections of beer - I couldn't have cared less.

Andy's has an outstanding selection of imported and domestic beers. I was impressed when I saw up and coming American micros such as Flying Fish Porter, Otter Creek Summer as well as a couple of Heavyweight Brewings' masterpieces. The selection was so great that I didn't know where to begin. If you have such a selection, you must have a beer club. Hence, Andy's 100 Beers club. After consuming 100 different beers, members receive an Andy’s t-shirt, jacket etc. as well as their name on a plaque.

Each brew was poured and served properly according to style. The proprietors even throw in a pretzel with each beer to cleanse the palette. The three of us had about 6 beers each and I grabbed a growler of Degröen's Maibock to go. The bill? $60 bucks including tip. I thought that was great.

The only drawbacks I can think of is the fact that the place gets very smokey (it is cigar friendly) from cigarettes and the bartender was kind of a dickhead. Other than that, it is definitely a great place to go for beer fiends.

(08/31/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Hudson's, Hoboken, NJ

This place is closed! Geshlossen!!

Kaputt!!

(08/03/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Awesome!

Establishment: High Point Brewing, Butler, NJ

I recently took the tour with my fianceé (who doesn't drink beer) on a Saturday afternoon. We arrived and sampled the Kristall. This is hands down the best tasting example of this beer that I have had. The tour was exremely informative, the staff incredibly friendly and knowledgeable. My fiancee actually drank a couple of their beers and enjoyed the heck out of them. All in all, a greatway to spend an hour or so on a Saturday - plus they sell their beer, steins and shirts to go.

(07/06/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Great

Establishment: Helmer's, Hoboken, NJ

Helmers is one of my favorite haunts in Hoboken. It offers an outstanding selection of German beer in bottle and draught.

The menu consists of old-world German country food. It would be quite difficult to find similar dishes in Germany today. Everything is prepared to order and always delicious.

A must for fans of quality German beer and food.

(04/13/2000)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]













(0.347 seconds) 21:05:52 54.90.251.197, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS