PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from
Other Reviews by this User
 
October 24, 2014 @ 06:42 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By

Beer Reviews
(33)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

33
Beer Reviews from
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Good Good Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!

Establishment: Ludwig's Garten, Philadelphia, PA

I stopped into Ludwig's recently during a trip to Philly. I immediately fell in love with the casual atmosphere of this place. After I took a look at all of the taps with their variety of German beers, I was in Heaven. Service was fast and courteous - a happy hour was in full swing when I arrived around 11 p.m. I had a few Salvators and an Adventinus. I wish I had arrived earlier to sample the food. Definitely worth the trip.

(10/31/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Victory Brewing Company, Downingtown, PA

Mark - I read the article you mentioned. Look - I am not here to get in a pissing match with you as far as whose beer is great and whose is not. Victory makes great beers – as do some folks across the ocean. I'll be on the lookout for the poor tasting pils next month while in München.

(10/30/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Lousy Lousy Good

Establishment: Victory Brewing Company, Downingtown, PA

In response to Wayne, PA's garrulous message posted below (complete with emphasis on cetain syllables) - you have entirely missed the point of my previous post. Sorry to spoil your fun but I have enjoyed many of Victory's ales and lagers and have also made a few trips to the brewery itself. Your comment that I was "complaining" is moot. In my opinion, it is upsetting to read an article (written by someone who learned his trade in Deutschland) that slams Germany and their products. Talk about biting the hand that feeds you!

Newsflash: If you take the time to look at other reviews of brewpub's, bars, etc, you will find many commentaries throughout the site that do not include a reviews.

(10/25/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So Lousy Lousy

Establishment: Samuel Adams Brewhouse, Philadelphia, PA

Nodding Head

I used to frequent this place when it was the Sam Adams house. Last weekend, I planned an excursion with some friends to Philly. I suggested we meet at "Nodding Head". Well - that was a big mistake. I arrived late - my 2 buddies had eaten "safe food" and tried the IPA. They were not impressed with either and quickly let me know.

I asked the bartender (Who was absolutely clueless) what she had on tap - she mumbled something and walked away - I finally figured out they had a Belgian style "Session" beer - I asked her for a sample of that as well as the IPA. Honestly - both beers tasted like my homebrewing attempts - bad. I even had to remind the bartender to charge me for my appetizer as she was ignoring customers and counting her tip jar.

Bad beer, coupled with mediocre food (burgers, chicken tenders) and an atrocious staff turned this a very brief visit. We quickly left and walked to Ludwig's Garten which was thoroughly enjoyable.

(09/27/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A So So Great

Establishment: Andy's Corner Bar, Bogota, NJ

I made my first trip to Andy's with some friends last week after they had touted it as one of the best beer bars in New Jersey.

At first glance from the outside, I was expecting something along the lines of the redneck bar from the Blues Brothers' film. The place is a little run down inside and out but after I saw the selections of beer - I couldn't have cared less.

Andy's has an outstanding selection of imported and domestic beers. I was impressed when I saw up and coming American micros such as Flying Fish Porter, Otter Creek Summer as well as a couple of Heavyweight Brewings' masterpieces. The selection was so great that I didn't know where to begin. If you have such a selection, you must have a beer club. Hence, Andy's 100 Beers club. After consuming 100 different beers, members receive an Andy’s t-shirt, jacket etc. as well as their name on a plaque.

Each brew was poured and served properly according to style. The proprietors even throw in a pretzel with each beer to cleanse the palette. The three of us had about 6 beers each and I grabbed a growler of Degröen's Maibock to go. The bill? $60 bucks including tip. I thought that was great.

The only drawbacks I can think of is the fact that the place gets very smokey (it is cigar friendly) from cigarettes and the bartender was kind of a dickhead. Other than that, it is definitely a great place to go for beer fiends.

(08/31/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Hudson's, Hoboken, NJ

This place is closed! Geshlossen!!

Kaputt!!

(08/03/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Awesome!

Establishment: High Point Brewing, Butler, NJ

I recently took the tour with my fianceé (who doesn't drink beer) on a Saturday afternoon. We arrived and sampled the Kristall. This is hands down the best tasting example of this beer that I have had. The tour was exremely informative, the staff incredibly friendly and knowledgeable. My fiancee actually drank a couple of their beers and enjoyed the heck out of them. All in all, a greatway to spend an hour or so on a Saturday - plus they sell their beer, steins and shirts to go.

(07/06/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Great

Establishment: Helmer's, Hoboken, NJ

Helmers is one of my favorite haunts in Hoboken. It offers an outstanding selection of German beer in bottle and draught.

The menu consists of old-world German country food. It would be quite difficult to find similar dishes in Germany today. Everything is prepared to order and always delicious.

A must for fans of quality German beer and food.

(04/13/2000)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]













(0.131 seconds) 06:42:49 54.82.80.15, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS