PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from
Other Reviews by this User
 
August 31, 2014 @ 03:29 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By

Beer Reviews
(88)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

88
Beer Reviews from
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Good Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Lousy So So

Establishment: Father's Office, Santa Monica, CA

I don't know why I ended up here with all the bad reviews that I read about this place. I think it was because my friend dragged me here.

I don't know why they put a guy at the front door. He lets everyone in anyway. It is very overcrowded. This place fits 75 comfortably. They like to let 100-120 people in at 6:30 on a Saturday night.

The service really sucks. You have to fight your way thru the crowd to order from the bar in the back. They give you a to go number then you have to hover over people waiting for them to leave so you can have a table to sit and eat at. They had 3 bus boys that looked smart enough to be waiters. Things would go a lot smoother if they took orders instead of fighting with you to take your pint that you only 3/4 finished. It was surprising to see so many good looking women at this bar. This bar isn't set up for single people cause if you have to get up to get a 2nd beer you loose your seat.

The food is very limited but they have really good sweet potato french fries.

They have a pretty good selection of beers on tap. I would say about 25-30 taps. I don't know who chooses the beers that go on tap but if its the same people that set up the ordering system they are in big trouble. The honey blonde tasted kind of stale. I had better honey blondes at the yard house in long beach.

I think the only reason why they are in buisness is because of the location. Montana Ave is a street that divides the rich Santa Monica People from the poor. I got an attitude from the crowd if its on Montana Ave it must be good. They don't know what a good bar is.

(08/08/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Belmont Brewing Company, Long Beach, CA

The bar had a very white YUPPIE crowd. The homemade beers are excellent the way breweries should make them. They have two menus Lunch & Dinner. Lunch one looked better and had better prices. Only thing missing on menu is need more meat items like steaks. I think because they have an awesome view of the beach they went heavy on the fish menu.

Parking was a little tricky for a first timer there. I parked at the meter parking off Olympic & Ocean and walked 2 blocks. I found Yankee Doodles on my way over to the BBC.

The Beers are very delicious. You could taste the strawberries in the strawberry blonde. Top Sail was my favorite it is a great amber ale with full body flavor but not over the top.

The french onion soup is delicious. It was Danny the bartenders birthday and he was having a great time. Heather was very cute. The staff was great they made sure I had everything I needed and more. I didn't have to ask for anything they took care of me even though I dressed like a bum.

I highly recommend this place.

(08/06/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Awesome! Lousy Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Naja's Place, Redondo Beach, CA

One of the best dive bars in Los Angeles County. I found this place while my brother was taking diving classes in Redondo Beach.

They have a great selection of 77 beers on tap and 777 bottled beers. You can get a free T-Shirt by having them sign off on a passport for drinking beers from around the world.

I got my t-shirt and moved on to other breweries. I just happened to be in the neighborhood today and found out Naja sold her boat and sold the bar. Seems like the staff changed but still have the same fun loving attitude.

Food isn't that great but there are enough resturant within walking distance to get a good meal then come back for a good beer.

Beware of parking in the beach parking lots it can get expensive and this bar is on the lower level where there is NO view of the beach.

(08/03/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A Lousy N/A

Establishment: Sierra Madre Brewing Company, Sierra Madre, CA

This place is in a nice neighborhood where everyone says hello to each other. The only problem is I traveled 45 minutes to get to this place only to find out they have the most wierd hours for a microbrewery.

Beware of the hours of this place: Monday - closed all day Tuesday - NO LUNCH opens 4:00PM-10:00PM Wednesday-NO LUNCH opens 4:00PM-10:00PM Thursday - 11:30AM-10:00PM Friday/Saturday - 11:00AM-11:00PM Sunday - Lunches if Games on otherewise 4:00PM-10:00PM

They must be rich to close during 1/2 the week. Loved the neighborhood. If you walk two blocks off the corner its on you can park as long as you want.

Not far from Santa Anita Horse Race Track. I might try to stop there again if I plan a day at the Races but in the mean time please be aware of the hours

(08/03/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Lousy Awesome! Great Good

Establishment: California Brewing Company, Alhambra, CA

This Brewery is on the verge of having some real potential. Its located in a part of Alhambra the looks like it could be the next Old Town Pasadena, Third Street Promenade(Santa Monica), or Melrose Ave.(Hollywood).

The brewery is very bright and open. It even has a patio for smokers. Really cool atmosphere!!! The waitresses were kinda busy during the lunch hour rush but very helpful. They would help cover each others tables if you needed something. Nancy the head Waitress/Manager/Bartender was the hottest looking Asian Lady I have ever seen running a bar. Watching her take care of things made up for the bad beer.

I'm sorry to say for a brewery the beer selection was horrible. They only had 3 homebrews on tap. They had thier version of a Blonde, a Nearly Pale Ale, and finally a Wheat Beer. For as many tanks as they had I can't believe they don't have a better selection. I don't know what thier Master Brewer is thinking. The Blonde was very water downed one of the worst Blonde Beers I have ever had. It tasted like Coors Light (not knocking Coors Light but just tasted water down). The Pale Ale was much better and had some butterscotch flavor but as a microbeer drinker I was very disappointed on this beer. I did not even attempt to drink a Wheat as I am not a fan of Wheat Beers even when the house has some delicious Pale Ale's.

This brewery has the best menu I have ever scene in a brewery. They have 4 different versions of buffalo wings, from Hot & Spicy to Terriakee(sp?) Flavor. The menu has great ranges of Fish, Chicken and Beef Dishes. They have Chicken Sandwiches and Tri Tip. They even have some Hawaiin Style Burgers & Chcicken Sandwiches. The Selection was so varied it was hard to choose what to try.

I hope they get a Good Master Brewer soon cause I really liked the waitresses. Not cause they were cute but cause they were very nice. If they had great beer I would move in there to live.

(07/29/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Lousy Lousy Good

Establishment: Bonaventure Brewing Company, Los Angeles, CA

I found this place because of PubCrawler.com. I hung out there from 3:30P.M. to 6:00P.M. on a Tuesday cause I am unemployed and my interviews were over for the day.

Parking in Downtown L.A. is terrible around this resturant. You're better off taking public transportation not only for the drinking & driving laws but because the parking is very bad to this location at the Bonaventure Hotel. The outdoor elevators are worth the ride to the top floor.

When I found this place my first impressions was oooo a classey place. Looking around at 3:30pm there was more staff (2-bartenders, 1-barback, 4-waitresses) then (2) customers which I thought was kind of odd seeing they had been open since lunch in the middle of a busy hotel. They have an outdoor patio where you can see the brewhouse while you sit and drink.

I belly up to the bar and order a sampler and a menu. I got the coldest reception from a bartender I have ever gotten in the last 20 years of hanging out in bars. Handed me the sampler with no explination of what each one was. I kind of knew the basics Pales, Amber/Red's, Stouts but each bar calls it something different. When I asked the bartender what the difference was between what looked like Ambers he told me there all listed on the bottom of the tray and turned his back on me and started a conversation with the waitresses. I had to remind him I wanted a menu.

The beers are just my speed the sampler they gave me had a Strawberry Blonde, Blonde, Pale Ale, Stout and Flavor of the Month. I was going to ask the bartender what the Flavor of the Month was but he was having to much fun ignoring me and hanging out with the waitresses.

The Strawberry Blonde was tastey I thought it was more for people who drink light beers. I thought it was a toss up between the Blonde and the Pale Ale for which one tasted the best. I thought this brewery's Blonde & Pale Ale have the potential of winning some local brewery contests. The Stout was decent as most stouts I have tasted seemed a bit watered down, I was looking for something with a little thicker flavor like coffee or chocolate.

As the afternoon wore on I realized why the staff was so snobby. It was because the buisness crowd started to roll in mostly lawyer and banker types. I finally got some nachos off the very limited menu. For a bar this fancy you would think they would have a better food selection. If it wasn't for the other resturants in the mall area of the Bonaventure I probably would have starved.

I can't see anybody being a regular at this bar. The only thing I can recommend about this place is if your in the neighborhood stop by for some good beer but bring a friend to talk to you. I enjoyed myself better at The Red Car Brewery in Torrance.

Steven S.

(07/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: San Pedro Brewing Company, San Pedro, CA

The Beers are perfect for a MicroBrew. They may not always have what your looking for in stock. The Hefewiez was out the 1st time I went and the Dark was out the 2nd time.

The food is delicious and way better then most bar food I have eaten. They still need something more original that stands out and makes you want to try it on the menu, something unique.

The Service and customers are great. The Bartenders are very friendly. The waitresses are quiet but thier looks make up for it. Seems like they only hire Hotties. You can always find someone to strike up a conversation with.

The Atmosphere is great. Old tavern look with tables and patio outside for smokers.

This place is definatly hang out worthy. Wished closer to the beach in the sun.

T

(07/26/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Pirate Brewery, Gardena, CA

There is no restaurant attatched to this brewery. Or I couldn't find the place when I drove around looking for it.

(07/12/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Red Car Brewery and Restaurant, Torrance, CA

I love the atmosphere of this place!!! It was an old AT&T switching house that was also a Barn for the old Los Angeles Red Car.

The Service of this place was great!! The servers were very nice and the owner made us laugh while he brewed a new batch of beer. I expected a more stuffy staff being in the South Bay but to my surprise I had a great time.

When I was there they had 5 homebrews on tap. The ElectroLight was a bit weak. The Wheat was average (I'm not a wheat drinker though). I liked the IPA but it seemed a bit strong for a IPA almost like a nighttrain of beers, it had a kick so I would say it was above average. The Pale Ale and the Red were very tastey and made it my favorites. The Red & Pale Ale weren't award winning tastey but brewery worthy. The Red was my choice of the better beer. The Color of the Red almost made it looked like a Brown but with the light taste of a Red.

This Brewery needs work on thier menu. I would have liked to see something more then the standard Buffalo Wings & Burgers. The best thing on the menu was Jamacan Jerk Chicken but a bit pricey. The beer complimented the meal well but I think they may need a graduate chef from a culinary school to help come up with some new ideas.

This is a great place to start if your going on the Brewery tour of Los Angeles!!!!

(07/12/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good So So Good

Establishment: Redondo Beach Brewing Company, Redondo Beach, CA

Strangest bar I have ever been in. The location is kind of ackward. In a typical neighborhood. No host when I walked in couldn't find a seat upstairs so had to sit in back downstairs.

The Rat Tail Red was better then the Blonde Pale Ale. The food was ok for bar food. Nothing stood out at me had to study the menu for hours until I could find something I thought might suit my appitite to go with the Beer.

The bartenders (seem like ex-bouncers) and waitress going thru the motions don't make you feel like your at a fun place. The locals seem snobby and not to helpful on which beers to try.

(06/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great So So Great

Establishment: Manhattan Beach Brewing Company, Manhattan Beach, CA

Great location 1/2 block from the pier overlooking pacific ocean. Parking is hard to find and expensive when you can get it because your fighting the beach crowd. The atmosphere is great but small. They have great mirrors on the walls and you can always catch a great sports game on.

The beer is pretty tastey the blonde pale ale is worth the medium price range. The Red Beer has a nice flavor too. The food is pretty good above average for bar food but needs something more original on menu then same old bar food.

I wouldn't say the service is mean. They get you what ever you need but it seems like they are just going to work. They don't make you feel like your part of the bar family while you are there.

(06/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! So So Great Great Great

Establishment: Huntington Beach Beer Company, Huntington Beach, CA

I personally like thier Pale Ale they call a Blonde Beer. The selection was limited but the microbrews are above average for microbrewery.

The food was somewhat the same as any bar but I loved their beer bread which is made from the leftover barely and hops from makeing the beer.

The service was really good but can get busy. The atmosphere is strange cause its upstairs its great view overlooking the street if you can get a seat along the rail. Its not a great place to people watch.

(06/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Awesome! Lousy Great So So

Establishment: Crown City Brewery, Pasadena, CA

Heard about this place after watching the DooDah Parade in Pasadena. Atmosphere is great, the people that work there are cool. You must have to be drunk and starving to eat here on a regular basis they need a chef big time.

The beer selection is pretty decent. Their homebrews taste pretty good but award winning. The great gimmick they have to keep people coming back is a passport arond the world. If you drink 100 beers (not all at once) you get a free shirt and your name on a plaque on the wall. If not for anything else its great for people who are interested in tasting different varieties of beers from around the world and at least your get a free shirt out of it.

(06/30/2004)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ ALL ]













(0.103 seconds) 03:29:58 54.90.42.156, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS